Bossanova, Baby!
April 14, 2004 - 2:54 PM
In The Headphones: The Pixies - Bossanova
On The Nightstand: Wonder When You'll Miss Me by Amanda Davis

I'm hiding out in the bedroom, trying to stay out of the way of the carpet cleaners who are steam cleaning the carpets in my living room and dining room. Kittyboy is in hiding too, although under the bed. He creeps out every once in awhile to peak out the bedroom door only to scurry back under the bed a few seconds later. I moved every single thing into the bedroom yesterday except for the futon and the dining room table and my bedroom looks like my old apartment used too. I think I'm going to try a different arrangement in the living room when I move the stuff back. I hope. I'm not sure the cables for the tv will be long enough to put the tv where I want. I may have to make a run to Radio Shack before the day is over. I'm so glad I'm getting this done. I don't think they were cleaned before I moved in last year (it's a year this week that I signed the lease!) and the previous tenant clearly had a pet also. And it became apparent as this year went on that their pet had a "favorite spot" that quickly became Kittyboy's favorite spot. Ahh, the joys of pet ownership.

So why this urgent need for clean carpets you ask? I'm having house guests in 2 weeks. I'm so excited. After living here for 9 years (that anniversary was the first of this month) astrocat and Hubs are FINALLY coming down from Seattle to visit. Only took a Pixies Reunion Tour to get them here. They will be here 2 weeks from tomorrow and staying until Monday night. They are taking me to The Pixies show in Davis on the 29th and I'm psyched about that, too. The Pixies rock!

I love having out of town company, especially when it is one of my oldest dearest friends (astrocat and I met at an Alarm concert in 1987) who has never been to San Francisco. So much to show them, so many places to go. I hope there is enough time to do it all without dying from exhaustion in the process. We aren't as young and spry as we used to be.

Well, the carpet cleaners are finished and I now have errands to run. I'm working nights at home again this week, which is a blessing. It's almost like a week of vacation. I work until 5 AM and sleep usually no later than noon which gives me the whole afternoon and early evening free. I really could get used to a schedule like this.

1 comments so far

astrocat - 2004-05-21 07:01:44
I wrote a comment and it got lost :-( Anyway I was saying that I don't know where I've been because it is 5/21 and I'm just now reading this entry. I somehow skipped it! We had a great time! I want to do the whole trip over again! But this time not be exhausted before I even start, and definitely not get sick. I will have to come back soon in better shape!
-------------------------------


Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004