I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum
January 31, 2005 - 3:54 PM
In The Headphones: Ted Leo & The Pharmacists - Shake The Sheets
On The Nightstand: A Slipping-Down Life - Anne Tyler

My stomach is in knots. Adam is in town this week which is a good thing because it's coming up on the time for me to give my notice and I think it's best if I talk to him in person. But, as I don't have a definitive date that I'm leaving yet, I'm not sure what is the best way to tell him. Plus, I am hoping to work it out so that I can still work here from home after I move. At least for a little while. So I'm really nervous about how I word things so I can get what I want. Although I know he's in the office, I haven't actually seen him. He emailed me this morning and when I replied I asked him if we could have a little pow-wow later so I'm on pins and needles waiting for him to come get me.
It's been pretty frustrating trying to iron out plans. I thought we had nailed down the date of me leaving as the end of February but my mom is in the midst of house hunting and hasn't found anything yet. I really didn't want to move until there was a house to move my stuff into but I don't have a real problem staying at my sister's for a couple of weeks, which if mom made an offer on something this week would probably be about right. But the way things are going, Lord knows when we'll have a house to move into and I don't want to be crammed in my sister's place for too long. It's not big enough for 3 people as it is. So it's looking like I'll be moving back my leaving date at least a couple of weeks if not a month. And I don't know if it's better to tell Adam that I have these plans but I don't know when I'm leaving or if it's better to just say I'm leaving on this date. They don't have to let me stay. They could tell me "thanks, now don't let the door hit you on the way out" and tell me to pack my things today or anytime before I'm ready to leave. And if that does happen it really scares me because I don't have a real definite job lined up. Renee has been keeping in touch with me about working for her family but we haven't ironed out pay and benefits or hours, although the last time we talked she said she wanted me to work from her house which is 45 minutes away from where I'll be living. I do not want to drive an hour to and from work everyday and put 100+ miles on my car everyday. I'd have to work something out where I only came up like twice a week and I don't know how she is going to feel about that. I do have a couple leads for some good paying customer service jobs (one that pays $15/hr which, while not much by California standards, is bank in Texas) that I could follow up on but it would take time to get that going, and honestly I don't have the money to live on for that long. I really was hoping to make a smooth transition. I think I will need to get Renee on the horn soon and work out some details. I'm sure I'll feel a lot more comfortable after I talk to her. It would just be a lot easier if I had a definite date I would be in Texas and able to start working.


1 comments so far

astrocat - 2005-02-01 18:58:49
What about school? Have you looked into that yet? Don't worry too much about giving notice at your current work. You've never done anything to make it so they would treat you badly. And they want you around to train your replacement. They'd be really stuck if they just told you to leave.
-------------------------------


Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004