Hope I Die Before I Get Old
March 05, 2004 - 3:46 AM
In The Headphones: The Who - My Generation
On The Nightstand: Nada

I'm finished with my overnight shifts. My boss (who is on the East coast) got up early and told me to get some sleep. Which is cool of him. I'm happy to be off that damn Think Pad and back on my new computer. I named her Pearl because she's such a pretty luminescent pearly white. I've missed her.

So now is technically the start of my weekend. Cool. No plans as of yet. Got a lot accomplished today including re-caulking around the toilet. Talk about exciting, huh?

My friend's birthday is Saturday; she'll be 40. I can't believe I have a friend who will be 40. 40!!! Not 30, FORTY!! That's really scary. I'm still quite a few years from 40. It's not looming over my head yet. But it certainly brings it that much closer to me and makes it that much more real. Sorta like Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally-- I'm gonna be 40, someday. It's still too far out there on the horizon to be fearing it yet. But now it's more like "Shit, I'm really gonna be 40 someday." There are still days when I don't even feel like I'm 30, ya know. But then it hits me that instead of staying up all night partying with the band, I'm up all night working. And instead of sleeping all day the next day, I'm up re-caulking the toilet.

Doesn't matter though. I have a youthful spirit. I will always feel young no matter how old I am because I will not let go of that. It's only when you lose your spirit that you get old. Maybe that's what Roger Daltry meant. Because then yeah, I do hope I die before I get old.

0 comments so far



Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004