We're Looking For Wide Open Spaces High Above The Kitchen
November 08, 2004 - 5:23 PM
In The Headphones: Crowded House - World Where You Live
On The Nightstand: Jennifer Weiner - Little Earthquakes

I woke up Sunday morning with an intense craving for cinnamon toast. Remember how your mom used to make when you were a kid, all sloppy wet with butter and caramelized cinnamon sugar. But I had no bread. Truth be told, I had very little of anything, including a desire to get dressed and go to the store. Fortunately, I had a box a Bisquik. I scanned the recipes on the back of the box and I saw that the Strawberry Shortcake recipe needed little more than Bisquik, milk, butter and sugar; all of which I had on hand. I improvised a little and mixed in some cinnamon, some nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla. I dolloped about 6 little mounds of the batter in my stoneware baking dish and liberally sprinkled them with cinnamon/sugar mixed together. After 12 minutes in the oven they were done but the tops weren't that oeey-gooey goodness I was craving. So I topped them with more cinnamon/sugar and some little chunks of butter and put them under the broiler for a couple minutes. Oh man! They were so good! So good! Honestly. I'm salivating right now just thinking about them. Mmmmm!

0 comments so far



Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004