My "I Voted" Sticker Is A Purple Heart
November 04, 2004 - 1:39 PM
In The Headphones: Elvis Costello - Armed Forces
On The Nightstand: Sue Monk Kidd - The Secret Life of Bees

Unbelievable...
I am amazed to discover from the election results that MORE THAN HALF of the people in this country believe that this is all OK; that the state this country is in is acceptable to them.
I am concerned that they are not only accepting of it but endorsing it as well; giving him and his "advisers" free reign for another 4 years. Why are they not afraid?
I am appalled that he won the popular vote. That is just unfathomable to me. I realize I live in an area that is vastly more liberal than the rest of the United States but I found the results so staggeringly not what I was expecting. Especially based on what I'd been reading from others who live all over the US. Please tell me, where are all these Bush supporters hiding?
I am heartbreakingly disappointed in the low voter turn out for the 18-24 year olds. What a sad, sad commentary that the youth of our nation can spend hours dialing in to vote for their favorite American Idol but are so apathetic about who is making decisions that affect their quality of life and the quality of their future.
I believe in the theory of the deliberate dumbing down of America. The less intelligent/educated/informed someone is, the easier they are to control. The more intelligent/educated/informed someone is, the more they want to know/learn/understand. The widespread activism of the 1960's, for instance; mostly taking place or organized by college students who, during post-WWII prosperity and idealism, were educated under a system that placed an extremely high value on education. Those well educated citizens created the closest thing this country has had to a revolution since our government was created over 200 years ago.
In fact, it was Thomas Jefferson who said that governments need to be overthrown every so often.
I think this country is in dire need of a real revolution!


2 comments so far

astrocat - 2004-11-05 06:02:34
Don't be too despondent over the low youth turn out. I got an email from MoveOn.org today that says not to believe all the hype over it. "More people between 18 and 30 turned out this year than ever before, even though the total percentage of young people in the population is smaller than it was in previous races." Not totally sure what that means, and it needs fact checking, but sounds good. Michael Moore says they are the only age group in which the majority voted for Kerry. They're not a total loss.
-------------------------------
astrocat - 2004-11-07 07:44:10
I forgot to say, you're listening to Armed Forces? Perfect! Absolutely perfect!
-------------------------------


Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004