That Was The River, This Is The Sea
July 15, 2004 - 12:54 AM
In The Headphones: The Waterboys - This Is The Sea
On The Nightstand: The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

There are times when I've wished for the uncomplicated life of the masses. A life that was simple and well ordered and followed "the plan" most of society finds acceptable. That life where you marry your college sweetheart, buy the big house in the suburbs, have the 2.5 kids, the golden retriever and the SUV in the drive way. Wouldn't it be easier than trying to live in a world where my soul and spirit rage uncontrollably?

Sometimes I find myself to much for this life. I'm expected to go to work 5 days a week, sit at a desk and be "productive" for 8 hours a day when I'd rather stay up all night, listen to music and write. My heart is being ripped apart and my soul is aching and my spirit is slowly dying. Sometimes I just can't do it. I was meant for more. I want more. No, I demand more than what this world is giving me.

And it would be so much easier if I somehow didn't feel things so intensely. Didn't have such a passionate heart. Easier push aside the yearnings of my soul to be touched by truth and beauty and just deal with the day to day bullshit. Deal with the corporate politics, the car repairs, the financial obligations. All these things that are slowly killing me.

But then I think--to listen to a song, or read a book, or look at a painting and not have it open up my soul and torch up a fire inside of me; that would be far worse. I couldn't imagine living without ever being fired up, inspired. So if living tortured in this world is what I have to do to have that passion, I'll take it. I won't have it any other way. Because those people living that simple, well-ordered life; they aren't really living. The ones who really live are the Van Gogh's, the Dylan Thomas's and the Kurt Cobain's of this world.

Fuck your big house and your luxury car! Fuck your well-ordered "perfect" life! Give me passion and truth and beauty!

"Man gets tired

Spirit don't

Man surrenders

Spirit won't

Man crawls

Spirit flys

Spirit lives when man dies

Man seems

Spirit is

Man dreams

Spirit lives

Man is tethered

Spirit free

What Spirit is man can be

What Spirit is man can be

What Spirit is man can be

What Spirit is then MAN_CAN_BE!"

~Mike Scott

0 comments so far



Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004