It's A Little Like Being A Phone Sex Operator
March 02, 2004 - 4:20 AM
In The Headphones: Bad late night infomercials
On The Nightstand: nothing at the moment

So yeah, it's 4 AM, I'm awake, at home, working in my jammies and watching bad late night tv. We have an auction today in the UK and tomorrow and Thursday in France so lucky me gets to stay up all night to man the phones. I've had 4 calls since 2 AM and only 1 hour left to go before the east coast office takes over. I think tomorrow will be busier. I think I start at 9 PM tomorrow. Or 12 AM. Not real sure yet. I find that the late/early hour makes me talk much softer, giving my voice a more husky quality. I wonder if any of the callers second guess that they've actually reached an auction company.

So I've had a small financial windfall of late. Nice chunk of change. I debated on how to spend the money for a long time. I really need a sofa and I've been shopping around. The problem is I know exactly what I want and what I'm finding isn't it exactly. Or, it's too expensive. Then, in order to get set up at home to work these overnight shifts, I need DSL or cable internet and my computer was too old for it. Initially, I thought I could just upgrade the OS and get more RAM but when I took it to the Apple store the final cost was over half the price of getting something new. So I made the mistake of looking around the store. Very dangerous. But I think I got a good deal. I spent more than I intended but I improved my situation 10 fold. Now I'll be able to download music at home, burn cds, watch DVD's, surf at 100 times the speed. I got an iBook so I'll have mobility, too. They also had a promo for a free printer which I didn't have either. I paid an extra $50 for an upgraded one that is also a copier/scanner. So thats's a good thing as well. And, as long as I was spending all that money, I picked up the 40GB iPod, too. I have been wanting one and had decided that some of my tax refund would get me one anyway so I just went ahead and got it, too. Anyway, lots of new toys. I'm really excited about the DVD player. There have been some things release only on DVD that I have really wanted to see. I rented An Evening With Kevin Smith which was so good I now need to own my own copy.

I'm sure I'll post again tomorrow night. Hell, it's not like TVLand is that exciting at 3 AM.

0 comments so far



Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004