Fly High, Freebird
June 21, 2004 - 7:53 PM
In The Headphones: Dinner For Five on the IFC channel
On The Nightstand: Organic Style Magazine

Every night about an hour before sunset, a hawk flies past my balcony to hunt the hillside down the street. I'm on the third floor up on a hill so my balcony is fairly high and he's searching for prey so he's flying fairly low and I swear sometimes I could almost reach out and pluck a feather as he swoops over the rooftop.

I love watching him hunt. He flies in ever widening circles then moves to another area flying again in ever widening circles. I've never seen him catch anything; he just flies around. When he's finished, he'll come and land on the tv antenna on the building across the street and rest for a few minutes before flying off to roost somewhere for the night. I really need to take his picture one day.

I think he's a mischief-maker because sometimes he gets attacked by other birds as he's hunting. Mostly it's these 3 huge black crows who take turns flying at him and cawing loudly as he flies his circles. He ignores them for the most part. It's really funny to watch.

Watching the birds is becoming one of my favorite things about living here.

1 comments so far

astrocat - 2004-06-22 19:31:31
Hi! Your graphics aren't loading in, at least not for me for the last couple of days. I love watching the birds from our deck. Except I'm the one the crows harass.
-------------------------------


Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004