Sunday Morning Coming Down
September 19, 2004 - 10:24 AM
In The Headphones: Kris Kristofferson - The Austin Sessions
On The Nightstand: San Francisco Chronicle - Sunday Edition

When I woke up this morning I thought it was the wind I heard out my window but then I realized it was raining and I jumped out of bed immediately. The first rain of the season. That makes me so happy! I love the rain. One of my least favorite things about this area is that it doesn't rain from May to usually October or November. We don't get thunderstorms here either. We might get a roll of thunder or a bolt of lightening here and there, but not a real thunderstorm. I do miss that about Texas; those summer thunderstorms. You can see them coming from miles away, banks of black-gray clouds filling up the immense horizon. The air goes still before they storm unleashes it's fury and then everything is wind and rain, booms of thunder and lightening cracking. Then, just as suddenly as the storm rolled in, it rolls away again. The sun comes out and intensifies the colors of everything around; the black asphalt of the streets, the green grass and leaves and the brown bark of the trees.

We've got some sun shining through the clouds out there now. It looks like the gateway to heaven.

0 comments so far



Woot Woot! - February 04, 2005
I've Got Tom-Toms In My Tum-Tum - January 31, 2005
The Seven Deadly Sins of December - January 04, 2005
Yummy and Gross - December 07, 2004
Big Changes On The Horizon - December 01, 2004